Mincemeat Shortbread Bites.

At the beginning of the week I had a list of thing to bake and I am sad to say I have only made three of the things but I will be baking again once I have written this.  I made the mincemeat shortbreads which worked out really well and I made apple curd which didn’t work out so well, and I also made another batch of the brandy frangipane mince-pies, but this is about the mincemeat shortbread.

It really is an easy, straight forward recipe, but I did have one of those ‘this so isn’t going to work’ moments, when the dough was quite sticky and I couldn’t ‘press’ it in the tin and when it came to ‘crumble’ the topping on, this dough does not crumble, you have to just put bits of the dough over the top of the mincemeat, any way, that all said, my husband assures me that this tastes delicious (I haven’t tried it as I don’t like mincemeat).

Here is the recipe for this delicious bake:

Mincemeat Shortbread Bites:

  • 260g Plain flour
  • 20g Semolina
  • 1/4 Tsp salt
  • 226g Butter – at room temperature
  • 70g Light brown sugar
  • 1 Tsp vanilla extract
  • 400g Mincemeat

Pre-heat the oven to 190C, and grease a 8.5 x 8.5 inch tin.

In a bowl mix the flour, semolina and salt and leave to one side.

In a mixer beat the butter until smooth, then add the sugar and again beat until smooth, the beat in the vanilla extract.  Gently stir in the flour mixture until just incorporated.

Evenly ‘press’ (I ended up spreading it with a spatula) about 2/3rds of the shortbread mixture into the prepared tin, then, spread over the mince meat leaving a 1/4 inch border.

‘Crumble’ the rest of the dough over the top and lightly press it into the mincemeat.

Bake for 35 – 40 mins or until golden brown.  Remove from the oven and cut it into small squares, then leave it to completely cool in the tin.

And here’s how mine looked, yes my pieces were quite big, but after it being tasted, smaller squares were highly recommended.

Image

I will definitely be making these again and maybe trying different flavoured ‘insides’ as it were, and maybe making a chocolate flavoured shortbread.  Yummy!!

Leave a Reply

